Tags

, , , , , , ,

Lately I have been thinking a lot about one thing. It is something that often becomes an issue as people age. Mine is not particularly bad, but it can be and should be much, much better … my health.

This introspection started awhile back, I got an MRI to rule out some issues I was having for cluster migraines. I have started to really think about my weight as I watched reports on my sister doing an amazing job lowering her weight, and frankly she is a huge inspiration for me. But I have a few reasons of my own to lose weight:

  • When I sleep I wear a sleep apnea machine and would love some better nights of sleep. Losing weight can help that.
  • Lower back pain is something that I live with on a daily basis, I had a L4,5 and S1 disectomey and there are still issues there … a lower weight will reduce my back pain.
  • I have three children and a wife I love immensely and a lower weight will hopefully give me a longer life with them!

On their own any one of those are great reasons … so I would like to lose 50 pounds in 2012. It is a huge task … one I have said I am going to do … I think I tried in 2011, 2010, and likely a few times before that to. The difference this time? Not sure. Will I succeed? Not Sure. Will I try harder than before? Yes, yes I will. After all a better quality of life awaits me and my family … and hopefully a longer life too!

Here is the first check in … Jan 16, 2012 : 251 pounds … goal 200 pounds.

