Tags

, ,

In hockey only five guys have made the 50 goals in 50 games mark, a combined eight times! Can you name them? I remember all but Richard’s (I was not born yet!), but I remember the other seven.

  • Maurice Richard in 1944/5 in 50 games.
  • Mike Bossy in 1980/1 in 50 games.
  • Wayne Gretzky (THREE TIMES!!!) in 1981/2, 1983/4 and 1984/5 in 39, 42, and 49 games respectively!
  • Mario Lemieux in 1988/9 in 46 games.
  • Brett Hull (TWICE!!) in 1990/1 and 1991/2 in 49 and 50 games respectively.

What does 50 goals in 50 games have to do with me? Well, I am tried to read 50 books in 2011 … I thought I would most likely fail! But hey I figured aim high, hit high. And then I will have a good idea of how much I can actually read while still doing the things that I need to do; be a husband, father, employee, eat, sleep etc.

So here it is, the list of stuff I read in 2011, I was planning on reviewing them as I read … well that just did not happen! Maybe I should read 50 this year and review 100 … OK that would be crazy!

  • Leaders Who Last by Dave Kraft
  • Christ Centered Preaching by Bryan Chapell
  • Experience Economy by James Gilmore
  • On Church Leadership by Mark Driscoll
  • The Top Ten Mistakes Leaders Make by Hans Finzel
  • The Peacemaker by Ken Sande
  • According To Plan by Graeme Goldsworthy
  • Discipline Of Grace by Jerry Bridges
  • Holiness By Grace by Bryan Chapell
  • While Shepherd Watch Their Flocks by Timothy Laniak
  • The Life of A.W. Tozer: In Pursuit of God by James L. Snyder
  • Doctrine by Mark Driscoll
  • Ashamed of the Gospel by John MacArthur
  • The Crescent Dune by Steve Barclay
  • How to Ruin Your Life by 40 by Steve Farrar
  • Generous Justice by Tim Keller
  • Simple Church
  • Church Planter by Darren Patrick
  • Walking the Small Group Tightrope
  • Vintage Church by Mark Driscoll
  • Big Truths For Young Hearts
  • Total Church by Tim Chester
  • The Shepherd Leader By Timothy Witmer
  • Brothers We Are Not Professionals by John Piper
  • A Sincere and Pure Devotion Vol. 1 by Sam Storms
  • A Sincere and Pure Devotion Vol. 2 by Sam Storms
  • Humility By C.J. Mahaney
  • Secrets to Parenting Your Adult Child
  • Every Young Man’s Battle
  • Redemption by Mike Wilkerson
  • How and When to Tell Your Kids About Sex
  • The Chase by Gerry Bridges
  • 99 Thoughts for Small Group Leaders
  • Money by Jamie Munson
  • Grounded in the Gospel by JI Packer
  • Dug Down Deep by Joshua Harris
  • Reflections on the Psalms by CS Lewis
  • With Open Hands by Henri Nouwen
  • Community by Brad House
  • A Meal With Jesus by Tim Chester
  • Think by John Piper
  • Gospel Coach by Scott Thomas
  • The Measure of a Man
  • Jesus, The only way to God by John Piper
  • Hudson Taylors Spiritual Secret by Howard Taylor
  • Leadership Secrets of Billy Graham
  • The Making of a Leader by Robert Clinton
  • Disciple by Bill Clem
  • Counterfeit Gods by Tim Keller
  • Ashamed of the Gospel by John MacArthur

So far … I am at 1 book read after 6 days in 2012 … that puts me on pace to read … 61 books this year. I am pretty sure that will not happen, but hey aim high hit high, right? Well I guess I had better go read a book or something!

