Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

“My God, my Father and Preserver, who of Thy goodness hast watched over me during the past night, and brought me to this day, grant also that I may spend it wholly in worship and service of Thee, most holy Deity. Let me not think, or say, or do a single thing which tends not to Thy service and submission to Thy will, that thus all my action may aim at Thy glory and the salvation of my brethren. And as Thou art giving light to this world for the purposes of external life by the rays of the sun, so enlighten my mind by the effulgence of the Thy Spirit, that He may guide me in the way of Thy righteousness. To whatever purpose I apply my mind, may the end which I ever propose to myself be Thine honor and service. May I expect all happiness from Thy grace and goodness alone. Let me not attempt anything whatever that is not pleasing to Thee … Amen.”

I have had a small pamphlet type book of John Calvin’s writings in my possession for about 25 years. I keep going back and reading it (all 32 pages that are only 2″x5″ in size) because it is so packed full of information, spiritually transformational information. Recently I was struck by the section on prayer. It is five short pages of goodness, and I would like to quote a few thoughts from John Calvin in the following post:

  • We must always have our heart and mind framed as becomes those who are entering into converse with God.
  • In asking we must always truly feel our wants, and seriously considering that we need all the things which we ask, accompany the prayer with a sincere, nay ardent, desire of obtaining them.
  • Can we suppose anything more hateful to God than this fiction of asking pardon of sins, while he who asks at the very time either thinking that he is not a sinner or at least is not thinking that he is a sinner; in other words, a fiction of which God is plainly held in derision?
  • He who comes into the presence of God must divest himself of all vain-glorious thoughts, lay aside all idea of worth, in short, discard all self-confidence, humbly giving God the whole glory, lest by arrogating anything, however little, to himself, vain pride causes Him to turn away His face.
  • We should be animated to pray with the sure hope of succeeding.
  • As a promise has been given that those who pray will be heard, so we are specially enjoined to pray in the names of Jesus Christ, the promise being that we shall obtain what we ask in His name. (John 14:12, 16, 24)
  • He is always present with us, and will in His own time show how very far He was from turning a deaf ear to prayers, though to the eyes of men they may seem to be disregarded.
  • In this way we shall posses abundance in poverty, and comfort in affliction. For though all things fail, God will never abandon us, and he cannot frustrate the expectation and patience of His people …

So much comfort, so much to work on, so much to wrestle with … so to God the Father I pray, in the name of Jesus Christ! Amen!

