Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

image

The other night was a my wife’s birthday … so we hit Tinhorn Creek’s new (ok newish) restaurant named Miradoro. It is up on the side of the hill beside the winery, overlooking the amphitheatre and well most of the South Okanagan valley as well! The view is spectacular. The restaurant is comfortable, with a formal yet not to formal atmosphere. The staff is quick to pour a glass of sparkling or spring water, and very helpful when it comes to making a food choice. 

I went with the pizza pancetta – Italian bacon, roast garlic, smoked mozzarella – and honestly, I could not stop eating. It was fantastic! Not one to be left out of something good, I also sampled my wifes meal. She had the roasted chicken, chard, pancetta, crisp polenta, with a caper & raisin sauce. I enjoyed the few mouthfuls of it that I got as well. At first I was not sure about the polenta and chard … but I loved it! I added in a glass of Pinot Gris 2010 and must say, it was a meal that we are still talking about together and with friends days later!

The menu is quite broad and I think there is something on it for everyone. While we were there the other customers ranged from businessmen having a dinner meeting to a family with young children to a couple celebrating a birthday together. It was a great night, great view, great food, and the price was very reasonable.

If you are in the South Okanagan do yourself a favour and make a reservation (be sure to ask for a seat with a view) and take in a meal at Miradoro. Highly recommended!

