In hockey only five guys have made the 50 goals in 50 games mark, a combined eight times! Can you name them? I remember  all but Richard’s (I was not born yet!), but I remember the other seven.

  1. Maurice Richard in 1944/5 in 50 games.
  2. Mike Bossy in 1980/1 in 50 games.
  3. Wayne Gretzky (THREE TIMES!!!) in 1981/2, 1983/4 and 1984/5 in 39, 42, and 49 games respectively!
  4. Mario Lemieux in 1988/9 in 46 games.
  5. Brett Hull (TWICE!!) in 1990/1 and 1991/2 in 49 and 50 games respectively.

What does 50 goals in 50 games have to do with me? Well, I am trying to read 50 books this year … I will most likely fail! But hey I figured aim high, hit high. And then I will have a good idea of how much I can actually read while still doing the things that I need to do; be a husband, father, employee, eat, sleep etc.

So here it is, the list of stuff I have read already this year, and books that I may or may not get around to reviewing in 2011. Maybe I should read 50 this year and review 50 next year ….

  1. Leaders Who Last by Dave Kraft
  2. Christ Centered Preaching by Bryan Chapell                             
  3. Experience Economy by James Gilmore                                     
  4. On Church Leadership by Mark Driscoll                                     
  5. The Top Ten Mistakes Leaders Make by Hans Finzel               
  6. The Peacemaker by Ken Sande                                                    
  7. According To Plan by Graeme Goldsworthy                               
  8. Discipline Of Grace by Jerry Bridges                                           
  9. Holiness By Grace by Bryan Chapell
  10. While Shepherd Watch Their Flocks by Timothy Laniak
  11. The Life of A.W. Tozer: In Pursuit of God by James L. Snyder
  12. Doctrine by Mark Driscoll
  13. Ashamed of the Gospel by John MacArthur
  14. The Crescent Dune by Steve Barclay
  15. How to Ruin Your Life by 40 by Steve Farrar
  16. Generous Justice by Tim Keller
  17. Simple Church
  18. Church Planter by Darren Patrick
  19. Walking the Small Group Tightrope
  20. Vintage Church by Mark Driscoll
  21. Big Truths For Young Hearts
  22. Total Church by Tim Chester
  23. The Shepherd Leader By Timothy Witmer
  24. Brothers We Are Not Professionals by John Piper
  25. A Sincere and Pure Devotion Vol. 1 by Sam Storms
  26. A Sincere and Pure Devotion Vol. 2 by Sam Storms
  27. Humility By C.J. Mahaney
  28. Secrets to Parenting Your Adult Child
  29. Every Young Man’s Battle
  30. Redemption by Mike Wilkerson
  31. How and When to Tell Your Kids About Sex
  32. The Chase by Gerry Bridges
  33. 99 Thoughts for Small Group Leaders

So far … I am at 33 books in 26 weeks … but I have not reviewed very many … so the challenge now lies in reading another 17 books, and writing about 44 reviews. Who’s idea was this!?! Well I guess I had better go read at book or something!

