Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is one of those shots that I look back and think about the effort put into the getting it. I had been watching this heron fish from shore and was really not happy with the pictures I was getting. So I changed into shorts and took off my shoes and socks and waded into the very cold Pacific Ocean in northern Washington state … in March. It was super cold!

Once my legs lost their feeling I was able to wade out to where the bird was comfortable with me and I liked the pictures. After about 45 minutes (it was cold) of taking pictures I got this one. I love the fish in the bill! I am not sure who was happier with the caught fish, me or the heron. Anyway, that caught fish ended the photo shoot, the heron went off to roost for the night and I when to have a hot shower … did I mention the water was cold?

