Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love my wife passionately. She is a true and tangible gift from God to me … she puts up with all my stupidity (yes, I do things that retrospectively I can call stupid!), she cares for the home with a tenacious, relentless work ethic, she takes the role of raising our children not just as a calling, but for what it is, a command from God! Add to that she is gorgeous, beautiful inside and out … and she loves to be affectionate with our children, and with me. As a man I can truly say, my heart, mind, body and soul are fixated on my wife, and I cherish her.

Over the last couple of days she has put me to shame. I am a pastor, I am paid to show care for a group of people in the church I work in. But it is my relentlessly giving wife that humbles me. In the last few days she has not only continued to maintain the home, strive for balance with our family time, been involved in the school that my children go to, helped host a small group pot luck meeting, set up a meal service for an elderly couple while the wife is recovering from a broken pelvis, made a great turkey noodle soup, done her daily walking group for social support, committed to leading worship … and just incase that was not quite enough … she also did a full day of respite care for a family who has an adult child with mental challenges.

I on the other hand, have spent two days working in my office … reading and writing. Her gift of mercy and helps humbles me! I do not have the capacity to do what she does … and that is ok.

I am truly blessed, and everyday with my wife makes my think about Proverbs 31:10-12; “An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious that jewels. The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain. She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life.”

If that is the truth, and I believe it is, I am a rich man purely because I have a wife I can trust and love, who cares for me for as long as God gives us days together. My prayer is that is will remember that everyday of my life!

