Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I am extremely happy this week on the football fan side. I am a Cheesehead, I love the Green Bay Packers. For me I can look back to the moment that I was drawn into the Packer family.

When Reggie White came to the Packers in 1993, I came too. 13 years in the playoffs in that time and a Super Bowl win … that is a good stretch of football! I have got to see some great games because I follow one team and try to see as many games as possible. I have watched Reggie White be the “Minister of Defense”. I watched Brett Farve work magic with his arm and that “all or nothing” attitude.

Over the years I have also developed a healthy dislike towards the teams that have caused the Packers pain. It is a long list … the Cowboys, Patriots, Colts, Steelers, Bears, Buccaneers, Broncos, but on Sunday one team takes the brunt of this dislike … the Steelers. I do have to say I dislike them for no other reason that they are between my team and the Superbowl win we Packers fans long for!

But I have a hope, actually several hopes. Green Bay has some game breakers for players; Aaron Rodgers, Donald Driver, Greg Jennings, Clay Matthews, A.J. Hawk, Charles Woodson just to name a few. The one thing I am really happy about is the number of those names that are on the defensive side of the ball. This is going to be a game won by the defense who stops the other team.

Oh, no matter what happens on Sunday my love for the Packer will stay the same. For a couple of good reasons. They are a team that is the only non-profit, community-owned franchise in American professional sports major leagues. That is right, this is a team literally for the public and has 112,000+ owners! Big corporation does not and can never own the Packers, no deep pocketed families can treat this team as their personal way to end their own high school sports failures! That is a super cool reason to cheer for a Packer win this Sunday, it would be a win for everyone who can’t own a team outright, but can by a share!

Another awesome reason to cheer is because of the people who own this team. They week in and week out fill a stadium with 60,000 fans, in a town of just over 100,000! Add to that in the rules for television blackout, when there is not a sell out in the stadium the game can not be televised, they have not had a game held off of television since 1982! That is a something that is absolutely nuts! And the player almost seem to understand and embrace that fact that the very fans they play for on Sunday are the same people who are the owners of the team! Every Lambeau Leap is an employee possibly jumping into the arms of their boss. That puts a new spin on the post touchdown celebration that happens in Wisconsin at a Packers game.

I am sure they will have a Lambeau Leap corner on Sunday, I just hope I get to see quite a few jumps into it during the game!

