Tags

, , , , , , ,

Over the few weeks I have been travelling quite a bit. Now that sounds fun but it was for a class, and a work conference. So not the global jet setting of the rich and famous sort of travelling … it was the sort of travel that involves hours in a chair in a conference room listening. I was gone from home for eight out of ten days. I could not wait to get home!

After being gone for so long one of the things that was a top priority was a family dinner. My wife and my three children and I sat down to a meal of chicken and perogies. Nothing fancy, but the company was awesome, and the conversation was amazing.

As we are eating my kids start to talk about the things on their minds. That can lead to really interesting and varied topics, I mean I have a 10-year-old son, 8-year-old daughter and a 5-year-old son. Things can at times go a little sideways.

I do not remember which one asked first but someone asked about God. The question was along the lines of “Was God born?” Before my wife or I could interject our wisdom and theological knowledge, my kids began a discussion that made me smile really big. It was a conversation about the huge, incompressible nature of God. How He is outside of creation because He is the Creator. How God is outside of our understanding of time, because He is not bound by time as we understand it.

As a Christian father, and a pastor it was amazing to see my children work out deep things of faith and in understanding of God. It was awesome to see them correct each other and explain truth in a simple, yet effective way. It was awesome, and humbling. What a treasure and responsibility to teach them about God the Father, Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit so they can understand how much God loves them. How humbling is it to realize that they are listening to what we teach, and measuring that against what we say and do. How awesome and humbling a task God has given my wife and I to raise our children.

As Proverbs 22:6 says, “Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.” Please Jesus, that is the prayer for my family. First that we would raise our children in the way that they should go, and second that my children would not depart from know, loving and serving Jesus Christ. Amen. I love my kids and their desire to understand and know God, may that truth for them never end!

